Shiva - Paris - 2003
Shiva - Paris - 2003
Instant décisif - Paris-2003
Instant décisif - Paris-2003
Les parapluies du Millenium bridge - Londres-2010
Les parapluies du Millenium br...
Brooklyn bridge with love - New York - 2006
Brooklyn bridge with love - Ne...
Le bout du monde - Seattle - 2014
Le bout du monde - Seattle - 2...
Pêcheurs - Saint-Nazaire - 2005
Pêcheurs - Saint-Nazaire - 200...
Saut de l'ange - Annecy - 2004
Saut de l'ange - Annecy - 2004
Les ailes de Santa-Cruz - Iles Canaries - 2010
Les ailes de Santa-Cruz - Iles...
The Beatles in Havana - Cuba - 2012
The Beatles in Havana - Cuba -...
Au feu! Au feu! - Washington DC - 2015
Au feu! Au feu! - Washington D...
La Défense - Paris - 2011
La Défense - Paris - 2011
Ermitage - Saint-Pétersbourg - 2008
Ermitage - Saint-Pétersbourg -...
Taxi - Cuba - 2012
Taxi - Cuba - 2012
Tribunal de Paris -1 - Paris - 2018
Tribunal de Paris -1 - Paris -...
Tribunal de Paris - 2 - Paris - 2018
Tribunal de Paris - 2 - Paris ...
Parc Martin Luther King - 1 - Paris - 2018
Parc Martin Luther King - 1 - ...
Parc Martin Luther King - 2 - Paris - 2018
Parc Martin Luther King - 2 - ...
 
 

During a tour of the Middle East with her family, Sabine Jaccard discovered the joys of photography: she was 9 years old. Since then, photography never quit her.
As she loved French and English literature, she studied both at Oxford and London universities, then at the Sorbonne. Shakespeare watched over her in her studies and in her work as a photographer.
Her aim : to produce tableaux vivants that echo some of Shakespeare's main themes: the antagonism between reality and illusion, between light and shade, between body and soul.
In 2000, Sabine Jaccard was introduced to Henri Cartier-Bresson. It confirmed her vocation in life.
Since 2002, exhibitions follow one after the other.
Sabine Jaccard particularly loves street photography with black and white prints on silver paper, and not digitally produced prints. According to its Greek etymology, the word "photography" means "writing with the light" ; Sabine Jaccard has chosen to take backlit photographs to express her desire to approach, touch and understand what drives human beings.
In 2017, she published her first photo album book entitled « Water Theatre ».

____

Modern Cities : love

"Sabine Jaccard is a traveller through and through. Born in Paris in 1971, she has lived in Jordan, - and in Madagascar, on the high plains where she used to be director of L’Alliance française ; she travels to every corner of the world in search of those precious « moments of grace » which she likes so much to grasp and to fix on paper.
Indeed, very quickly and in parallel to her English studies at the Sorbonne, in London and in Oxford – where she discovered a passion for Shakespeare – Sabine threw herself into photography. She met Martine Franck in Arles, and then became a disciple of the Malagasy photographer Pierrot Men.
Her favourite fields, from contemporary urban architecture to portrait, and from advertising to fashion, bespeak her eclecticism. Hence the creation of photographic cycles – always on film rather than digital – which gives to human kind more than its due.
« Shadows Theatre », taken in Madagascar between 2000 and 2002, expresses Sabine Jaccard’s taste for the play of shadows and light and reflects her determination to show life’s movement. This passion also asserts itself in the exhibitions, « Water Theatre » and « The World’s a Stage ». Geometry, so treasured by Cartier-Bresson, is also very apparent, since Sabine Jaccard plays with lines and perspectives of buildings, of bridges, of public gardens, of fountains and basins to inscribe our lives into urban spaces very naturally.
Her gaze seems to tame modern cities and to reconcile them with all sorts of populations living there. She captures and keeps those « decisive moments » which often make our world look beautiful, sensitive and joyful. It is this humanism which Sabine Jaccard allows us to share : our modern cities conceal treasures of love."

Cuvelliez, writer, 2012 (translated by Sabine Jaccard)

____

"Shadows Theatre"

"Since Sabine Jaccard asked me to help her with her photographic work, for her own work as well as for those of her students in Ambositra (Madagascar), we looked together at about a hundred contact sheets in search of "the" photo, the one where everything is set spontaneously, the photogropher's dream. We often chose the same photograph, wondering about this mystery: why this one and not that one, although more studied, witness of a more intense emotion, result of a difficult pursuit, or story of a more interesting anecdote? The good photo is often more felt than calculated, given like a favour. Yet one has to be able to seize it, then to notice it. Even if, because of lack of time, the focussing is not perfect, as long as everything is in it, it is a good photo because it gives you the desire to see. It has an action, an atmosphere, often due to little: a tube that drags along isolates a child from the others rejecting him into an enigmatic solitude; a stick forgotten on the soil fixes the composition; a ball appears like a gift of God in the camera; the precision of an inscription on a wall gives life to all the rest; a leg cut on the left handside corner frames a scene. Sabine was interested in shadows, never hesitating to cut her characters to concentrate on her shadows, focussed and cut but ambiguously rich. She found there a source of personal inspiration which makes her work progress. I would have liked my first exhibition, a long time ago, to be as considered as hers."

Pierrot Men (Malagasy photographer)

____

"The other side of sight"

"Sabine Jaccard studied English, she is a well-informed lover of Shakespeare and Lewis Carroll, the photogropher of children and the author of "The other side of the mirror" where a child explores the other side of the adults' world represented by a big chessboard. Her photographer's eye glances off on things and people as on the surface of a mirror. She doesn't see, she searches. In her quest, she has seized the chance of getting to know an illustrious neighbour, Pierrot Men. A good artist makes you see the world through his eyes. How is it possible to escape from his look when one lives in his world, the one of Malagasy villages populated by curious children, sometimes sad players, projecting their shadow-theatre on the vibrant screen of walls and soils whose texture incites the spectator to meditate, or warrior silhouettes hugging fragile and elegant fences like Japanese engravings? Pierrot Men is both the inspirer, the obstetrician and the creator of a world where Sabine Jaccard lands with her literary background and her personal story. If her work shows this hesitation, her personal search asserts itself when she studies the plastic and symbolic possibilities of shadows. They enable her to explore the next world of those faces of children now well-known and often like third-rate actors, a next world which brings her back to herself and to her own spiritual quest. It is also a means of exploring a medium, which uses, precisely, the projection of light and shadows on a plane and sensitive surface. When the body no longer exists, what is left from the person? A question to ask oneself in the country of spirits."

Pauline de Laboulay (art critic), 2002. Translated by Sabine Jaccard

____

"The World's a Stage"

"Of course, to guide the visitor, there is this indication of a "Theatre of the Human" inscribed on the invitation to the exhibition as a roadsign. The titles of the photographs themselves also work as signposts. Sometimes, though, as riddles: one tries to find the advertised Coliseum hidden by the wing of a startled gull; one stands speechless in front of this highly symbolic framing of St Peter's in Rome between the photographers' arms; one tries to penetrate the mystery of a strange Superposition in Stonehenge; one wonders which benevolent god has dispelled the crowd around those lovers, granting them the Brooklyn Bridge as a sublime setting. There are also those towns whose only names invite mythical pictures to set free from our subconscious for a breath of fresh air.

Yet, none of these words could really express what we are about to see. Sabine Jaccard leaves you no choice, she compels us to see with her own eyes or to go on our way.

Obviously, it is never simple to see through someone else's eyes...But those who have met Sabine know how intense hers are: her true self shines forth, her ingenuousness, which is both serene and anxious, baffles you, her seriousness makes you wonder. Here it is, this way of looking intensely at life with incredible grip. Sabine stares at you. She tries to understand, to intercept, what obviously cannot be seen.

And this creates those amazing, almost enthralling images. Really demanding pictures, at which one cannot glance superficially. Pictures which disclose layer after layer of truth composed of coïncidences and discrepancies. Here, nothing is just beautiful, nothing is linear, nothing is given at once. Here is life itself, with gushes and breaks, at stake on all those stages. And one can feel that it is a celebration of life.

In order to present this theatre, we could choose a more highbrow, a more technical or a more aesthetic approach. And call on more big words for help, as well as quoting high falutin' references. But we can also dispense with words altogether - since photography is silent and self sufficient by definition - and speak only of the photographer and look at her work as I did: with friendship and pleasure."

Cookie Allez, writer, 2010 (translated by Sabine Jaccard)

____

Theatre of water

"In this theatre of water, rigorous geometry reveals the elusive enchantment of a moment of being with gushing crystal-clear water turning into shadows against the light, or acrobatic divers leaping in midair. Everything is so oddly familiar and unfamiliar at the same time. Are the sparkling water fountains merely the Parc André Citroën in Paris? Is the smooth, matt surface a lake in the Alps? Or is it another Midsummer Night’s Dream in broad daylight, with each actor splitting into his own shadow, at times graceful, at times comical, as in Shakespeare’s theatre with which Sabine Jaccard is so familiar?
In her photographs, each event takes place here and now, as in a theatre, and yet the story is never told. Plain Matisse-like silhouettes, which at first glance seem flimsy like so many childish sarabands in papier collé, turn out to be real playful children who spontaneously submerse themselves in this primary element that brings them all so much joy: a water garden, a fairyland forest of transparent trees whose summits blossom into a white haze in the wind, sparkling in the sunshine. Other children with similar shadows and similar acrobatic bodies run along a pontoon of solid wood. They are going to jump, have jumped or are hanging suspended in midair as if in semi-circles or as if curled up in balls above the still water. One of them is already under the water like a clumsy doll, creating a thousand sparkles of light on what suddenly becomes a glittering surface. Paradoxically, nothing seems to be at a standstill in what Sabine Jaccard captures in her photos. Everything invites movement or compels the eye to gaze at subtly meandering lines standing out that detach themselves against sometimes matt, sometimes shiny yet uniformly smooth surfaces from where figures suddenly appear, and there again combine contrary shapes that harmonise with each other; fountains shoot out into tall shafts at the centre of neat circles, embedding themselves into huge square slabs where children’s shadows play virtual hopscotch. The fountains themselves, which are quintessentially transparent, spurt up water vertically, casting long unexpected oblique shadows creating a backlight effect and seeming to deny the beholder the very fluidity they promise. Similarly, in the Talloires photos, before the mountains’ shading of greys, the lake’s perfect straight line on the horizon is at odds with the pontoons’ receding perspective which guides the viewer’s gaze to where the swimmer is poised to touch the water. These wooden planks have streaks of heavy shadows, making them appear even more geometrical, even more rigorously contrasted with the leaping movements that take shape.
Just as Shakespeare would have done with his stage, the “wooden O”, everything is captured at the starting point of a metamorphosis, another obsessive word for a poet of baroque contradiction and irresolute time; it is as if the almost awkward curve of a latent duration were inscribed in each instant, expecting its likely end, when suddenly time renews its course. Sabine achieves this through balls bobbing up and down on the very top of fountains, as they are caught between unsteady opposing forces. Turning into dark, glossy balls that bounce above the pearly crystal liquid, they are then on the brink of falling down only the better to rebound.
Yet a photo, which has been fittingly chosen to announce the exhibition, seizes time in an ideal apotheosis of a moment; a subtle game of recollecting and metamorphosis inscribes the children’s game in the one of human beings, when the slender elves of this Midsummer’s End Dream, or of a day coming to an end, still run amid the water columns, and as the fountains form a living façade of bright white before the black façade of a long building in the background, thus creating – as at the theatre – the illusion of an improbable Parisian Versailles. Meanwhile, the envelope of a hot-air balloon, which appears on the top central axis of the photo, makes a moment of perfect equilibrium visible by the almost flawless symmetry it provokes, as if some childish balloon had escaped from the law of gravity, or from any threat of imbalance, or even from that of the water which continues to fall, only to remain an element that will rise up in the air.
In her photos, Sabine Jaccard seems to want to appropriate the audacious creative contradiction that Shakespeare proclaimed in Macbeth, “Foul is fair, and fair is foul”. When she was at the Sorbonne and studying Shakespeare, she already knew how to represent a passage from King Lear by making a short film of remarkable relevance and which has since been shown at the Paris Film Library (Cinémathèque de Paris). She knew how to find subtle similarities between Shakespeare’s text and concrete matter – water, pebbles, sand, a cliff, camera effects between depth and height – just as she knows how to create a theatre without speech through these photos in which matter, shapes, light and shadows all have their own voice."

Gisèle Venet Professor Emerita, Sorbonne Nouvelle, 2005

____

Water and Dreams

"Sabine’s eye transforms and transcends. This is a constant feature of her photos, deliberately inscribed in black and white for years.
Projected onto the ordinary spectacle of life, her imagination performs a miraculous diffraction of reality which projects us beyond what our eyes can see.
Sabine transforms water into fire, into exuberant jungles, into phantasmagorical shapes, or into comets’ tails…leaving us free to interpret what we see.
Children metamorphose into pure joy in those chosen scenes and in those moments stolen to time, then fixed for ever in this new truth. They are a dance; they are a game; they are a scream; they are childhood. They are simply themselves in the superlative.
When she slips into a crowd with her camera, or sneaks discreetly right into life’s games, Sabine immerses herself body and soul in photography. When you follow her, you realize how acute her eyes are and how they show an extreme tension, even an anticipating power; this incites you to remain silent. That is why one can feel in her photos the will and strength to see clearly through the surface of the mirror that reality holds up to us. As well as her ability to look on the world with benevolence.
It is difficult to write about her photos without speaking about Shakespeare, who has nourished her with his plays, to such an extent that she borrows from his comedy “As you like it” the title of one of her most recent exhibitions: “All the world’s a stage”.
The sets, like the roles, are infinite, but “what the photographer reproduces infinitely takes place only once”, as the French art historian Roland Barthes very justly observed. Still, the artist must be there, immobilized by the dazzling site and yet able to recreate it in a different dimension.
There is magic to Sabine’s art. At the end of those little miracles, it is for the spectator’s eye to play the final act!"

Cookie Allez, writer (translated by Sabine Jaccard)

____

Artist statement

"In many tableaux vivants, Sabine Jaccard offers for our viewing a very subtle stage play which celebrates much evident themes in Shakespeare’s works : the contrasts between reality and illusion, between light and shadows, between body and soul.

On stage, Water and Human Beings play the principal roles.
The characters of Parc André Citroën in Paris, of Anacostia Park in Washington D.C, or of the UN Square in Geneva metamorphose into a thousand sparkles of light.
No need to be posed, it’s the eye of the photographer which directs its place.
One of her aims is to make the sap of Time gush forth, stressing its weights but also offering delight.
Sabine Jaccard is French and Swiss, and she lives in Paris. She particularly appreciates street photography in black and white film. To photograph, according to the Greek etymology, is to « write with light » : she has chosen to take backlits to bear witness to her compelling desire to approach, to touch, to understand what moves humanity.
And it is for the spectator’s eye to play the final act !"

Cookie Allez, writer (translated by Sabine Jaccard)

Contact-us
© 2009 Art Way - all rights reserved
Art Way® is a registered brand

ART WAY
75008 PARIS - FRANCE
Contact

Shiva - Paris - 2003
Shiva - Paris - 2003
Instant décisif - Paris-2003
Instant décisif - Paris-2003
Les parapluies du Millenium bridge - Londres-2010
Les parapluies du Millenium br...
Brooklyn bridge with love - New York - 2006
Brooklyn bridge with love - Ne...
Le bout du monde - Seattle - 2014
Le bout du monde - Seattle - 2...
Pêcheurs - Saint-Nazaire - 2005
Pêcheurs - Saint-Nazaire - 200...
Saut de l'ange - Annecy - 2004
Saut de l'ange - Annecy - 2004
Les ailes de Santa-Cruz - Iles Canaries - 2010
Les ailes de Santa-Cruz - Iles...
The Beatles in Havana - Cuba - 2012
The Beatles in Havana - Cuba -...
Au feu! Au feu! - Washington DC - 2015
Au feu! Au feu! - Washington D...
La Défense - Paris - 2011
La Défense - Paris - 2011
Ermitage - Saint-Pétersbourg - 2008
Ermitage - Saint-Pétersbourg -...
Taxi - Cuba - 2012
Taxi - Cuba - 2012
Tribunal de Paris -1 - Paris - 2018
Tribunal de Paris -1 - Paris -...
Tribunal de Paris - 2 - Paris - 2018
Tribunal de Paris - 2 - Paris ...
Parc Martin Luther King - 1 - Paris - 2018
Parc Martin Luther King - 1 - ...
Parc Martin Luther King - 2 - Paris - 2018
Parc Martin Luther King - 2 - ...
 
 

C’est lors d’un périple familial à travers tout le Moyen-Orient que Sabine Jaccard découvre le plaisir de photographier : elle a 9 ans. La photographie ne la quittera plus.
Passionnée de littérature française et anglaise, elle étudie à l’Université d’Oxford et de Londres, puis à la Sorbonne. Shakespeare l’accompagne dans son parcours universitaire et photographique.
Son objectif : proposer des tableaux vivants qui célèbrent des thèmes présents dans l’œuvre de Shakespeare : les oppositions entre la réalité et l’illusion, entre l’ombre et la lumière, entre le corps et l’esprit.
Sa rencontre avec Henri Cartier-Bresson en 2000 affirme sa vocation.
Les expositions se succèdent à partir de 2002.
Sabine Jaccard affectionne particulièrement la Street photography, toujours en noir et blanc argentique. Photographier, selon l’étymologie grecque du mot, c’est « écrire avec la lumière » ; Sabine Jacccard choisit le contre-jour pour témoigner de son désir d’approcher, de toucher, de comprendre ce qui anime l’humain.
En 2017, elle publie son premier livre de photographies « Théâtre d’eau ».

____

Modernes Villes : l’amour

"Sabine Jaccard est une voyageuse dans l’âme. Née à Paris en 1971, elle a vécu en Jordanie, à Madagascar sur les hauts plateaux, où elle dirigeait l’Alliance française et sillonne le monde à la recherche de ces fameux « instants de grâce » qu’elle aime tant saisir au vol et fixer sur le papier.

Car, très vite, parallèlement à ses études d’anglais à la Sorbonne, à Londres et à Oxford – où elle se prend de passion pour Shakespeare -, elle se plonge dans la photo. Elle rencontre Martine Franck à Arles et devient disciple du maître malgache Pierrot Men. Ses domaines de prédilection, de l’architecture des villes actuelles au portrait, en passant par la publicité et la mode, témoignent de son éclectisme. En découle la conception de cycles de photographies – en argentique toujours – qui font la part belle à l’être humain.
Théâtre d’ombres, réalisé à Madagascar entre 2000 et 2002 exprime le goût de Sabine Jaccard pour le jeu de l’ombre et de la lumière et manifeste sa volonté de retenir le mouvement de la vie. Cette passion s’affirmera lors des expositions suivantes, Théâtre d’eau et Théâtre d’hommes. La géométrie, si chère à Cartier-Bresson, est également très présente car Sabine Jaccard, jouant avec les lignes et les perspectives des bâtiments, ponts, jardins publics, fontaines et bassins, inscrit très naturellement nos existences dans les espaces urbains. Son regard semble apprivoiser les villes modernes et les réconcilier avec toutes les populations du monde qui y vivent. Elle capte et retient les « instants décisifs » qui souvent rendent notre monde beau, sensible, joyeux. Dans ce regard-là, il y a de la profondeur.
C’est cet humanisme que Sabine Jaccard nous offre en partage : nos villes modernes recèlent des trésors d’amour."

Cuvelliez, écrivain, 2012

____

Théâtre d’ombres

"Depuis que Sabine Jaccard m’a demandé de l‘aider dans son travail photographique, aussi bien pour ses propres travaux que pour ceux de ses élèves d’Ambositra, nous avons scruté ensemble une centaine de planches de contact à la recherche de « la » photo, celle où tout se met en place spontanément, le rêve du photographe. Il se trouve que nous choisissions souvent la même, nous interrogeant sur ce mystère : pourquoi celle-ci et pas celle-là, pourtant plus recherchée, témoin d’un moment d’émotion plus intense, résultat d’une poursuite difficile, ou récit d’une anecdote plus intéressante ? La bonne photo est parfois plus sentie que calculée, donnée comme une grâce. Mais il faut savoir la saisir, puis la repérer. Même si, faute de temps, la mise au point n’est pas parfaite, du moment que tout y est, c’est une bonne photo parce qu’elle donne envie de voir. Elle a une action, une ambiance, souvent due à peu de chose : un tuyau qui traîne isole un enfant des autres le rejetant dans une solitude énigmatique ; un bâton oublié sur le sol assied toute une composition ; un ballon surgit comme un cadeau de Dieu sous l’objectif ; la précision d’une inscription sur un mur donne vie à tout le reste ; une jambe coupée en haut à gauche cadre une scène. Sabine s’est intéressée aux ombres, n’hésitant pas à couper les personnages pour se concentrer sur leurs ombres portées, nettes et découpées mais riches d’ambiguïté. Elle a trouvé là une source d’inspiration personnelle qui fait progresser son travail. J’aurais aimé que ma première exposition, il y a bien longtemps, soit aussi réfléchie que la sienne."

Pierrot Men, photographe malgache, 2001

____

De l’autre côté du regard

"Sabine Jaccard est angliciste, amateur éclairée de Shakespeare et de Lewis Carroll, le photographe d’enfants et l’auteur de « L’autre côté du miroir » où l’enfant explore l’envers du monde des adultes représenté par un grand échiquier. Son œil de photographe ricoche sur les choses et les gens comme sur la surface d’un miroir. Elle ne voit pas, elle cherche. Dans sa quête, elle a su saisir la chance d’un illustre voisinage, celui de Pierrot Men. Un bon artiste est celui qui vous fait voir le monde par ses yeux. Comment échapper au prisme de son regard quand on vit dans son univers, celui des villages malgaches peuplés d’enfants curieux, joueurs et parfois un peu tristes, projetant leurs ombres chinoises sur l’écran vibrant de murs et de sols dont la texture incite à la méditation, ou silhouettes guerrières longeant des clôtures fragiles et élégantes comme des estampes japonaises ? Pierrot Men est à la fois l’inspirateur, l’accoucheur et le créateur d’un monde où Sabine Jaccard débarque avec son bagage littéraire et son histoire. Si son travail porte la marque de ce tâtonnement, sa recherche personnelle s’affirme quand elle étudie les possibilités plastiques et symboliques de l’ombre et des ombres. Elles lui permettent d’explorer l’au-delà de ces figures d’enfants désormais connus et volontiers cabotins, un au-delà qui la ramène à elle-même et à sa propre quête spirituelle. C’est aussi une façon d’inaugurer son travail de photographe par l’exploration d’un médium qui utilise, précisément, la projection d’ombre et de lumière sur une surface plane et sensible. Quand le corps n’y est plus, que reste-t-il de la personne ? Une question à poser au pays des esprits. "

Pauline de Laboulaye, critique d’art, 2001

____

"Théâtre d'Hommes"

"Bien sûr, pour orienter le promeneur, il y a cette indication, Théâtre d'hommes, inscrite au fronton de l'exposition comme un panneau de signalisation. Il y a encore les titres des photos, offerts comme des indices. Parfois comme des devinettes: on cherche ce Colisée qu'une aile effarouchée escamote; on reste sans voix sur ce cadre hautement symbolique que des bras de photographes offrent à la Basilique Saint Pierre de Rome; on tente de percer le mystère de cette étrange Superposition à Stonehenge; on se demande quel dieu bienveillant a écarté la foule autour de ces amants auxquels le pont de Brooklyn accorde un écrin sublime. Il y a donc aussi toutes ces villes dont le seul nom invite les images mythiques à s'évader de l'inconscient pour prendre l'air.
Pourtant, aucun de ces mots ne saurait exprimer vraiment de ce que nous allons voir. Sabine Jaccard ne laisse pas le choix, elle nous contraint à entrer dans son regard ou à passer notre chemin.
Certes, entrer dans le regard d'autrui n'est jamais simple...Mais ceux qui ont rencontré Sabine savent quel est l'intensité du sien: sa vérité vous éclate à la figure, sa candeur à la fois tranquille et inquiète vous désarçonne, sa gravité vous interroge. Il est là, ce regard, planté dans la vie avec une force incroyable. Sabine vous dévisage. Elle cherche à comprendre, à surprendre ce qui, justement, ne se voit pas.
El cela donne ces images étonnantes, presque captatrices. Qui exigent quelque chose de vous. Qui ne se contentent pas d'être effleurées. Qui révèlent plusieurs épaisseurs, comme un mille-feuille de temps, composé de coïncidences et de décalages. Ici, rien n'est seulement beau, rien n'est linéaire, rien n'est donné d'emblée. C'est la vie, jaillissements et ruptures, qui se joue sur toutes ces scènes. Et on sent bien qu'elle y est célébrée.
Pour présenter ce théâtre, on pourrait choisir une approche plus cérébrale, plus technique ou plus esthétique. Et appeler les grands mots à la rescousse, et citer les grandes références. Mais on peut aussi - sans convoquer les mots, puisque la photo, muette par définition, se suffit à elle-même - ne parler que du photographe et regarder ses oeuvres comme je l'ai fait: avec amitié, avec plaisir."

Cookie Allez, écrivain, 2010

 ____

Théâtre d’eau

"Théâtre d’eau, géométrie rigoureuse qui révèle l’insaisissable enchantement du réel, jaillissements transparents parcourus d’ombres en contre-jour, plongeurs acrobates en plein saut, tout est étrangement reconnaissable, étrangement méconnaissable. Est-ce le Parc André Citroën à Paris dans le pétillement des jets d’eau ? Un lac des Alpes dans cette étendue mate et lisse ? Ou bien est-ce quelque Songe d’une nuit d’été en plein jour, où chaque acteur se dédouble en son ombre, gracieuse ou cocasse comme dans le théâtre de Shakespeare si familier à Sabine Jaccard ?
Dans ces photographies, tout est événement dans l’instant, comme au théâtre, et pourtant rien ne se raconte en mots. De simples silhouettes à la Matisse, à première vue sans épaisseur, comme autant de sarabandes enfantines en papiers collés, révèlent des enfants réels qui jouent, s’immergent spontanément dans cet élément primaire qui les met tous en joie, un jardin d’eau, une forêt féerique d’arbres transparents que le vent au sommet épanouit en brouillard blanc ensoleillé de bulles. D’autres enfants aux mêmes ombres, aux mêmes corps acrobates, courent sur un ponton de bois rude. Ils vont sauter, ont sauté, suspendus en arcs de cercle, ou ramassés en boule, au-dessus de l’eau plate. L’un s’y enfonce déjà, poupée gauche, allumant mille feux à la surface soudain mobile.
Car rien n’apparaît fixe, paradoxalement, dans ce que capte Sabine Jaccard, tout invite au mouvement, tout contraint le regard à suivre de subtils graphismes sur des surfaces tantôt mates, tantôt luisantes, rigoureusement étales, d’où surgissent les formes, là encore alliant des graphies contraires qui s’harmonisent : des cercles nets, d’où jaillissent les fûts des jets d’eau s’alignent et s’incrustent dans de grandes dalles implacablement découpées en vastes carrés ; les ombres des enfants y parcourent autant de marelles virtuelles. Les jets d’eau eux-mêmes, quintessence de transparence et de jaillissement vertical, projettent leurs ombres inattendues en contre-jour, longues obliques au sol qui dénient au regard la fluidité qu’ils promettent. De même, dans les photos de Talloires, devant les dégradés de gris des montagnes, la droite parfaite que dessine le lac à l’horizon est contredite par la perspective en fuite des pontons qui conduit le regard là où le plongeur va toucher l’eau. Ces planches de bois sont elles-mêmes zébrées d’ombres fortes qui les font paraître plus géométriques, plus rigoureusement contrastées avec les mouvements bondissants qui y prennent forme.
Comme aimait le faire Shakespeare, sur les planches de son théâtre, tout est saisi dans ce moment où s’amorce une métamorphose, autre mot obsédant chez le poète de la contradiction baroque et du temps irrésolu, dans ce moment qui inscrit la courbe presque douloureuse d’une durée latente dans chaque instant, comme en attente de sa fin, quand le temps reprend son cours. Ainsi parfois des ballons dansent, au sommet des jets d’eau, équilibre instable de forces contraires, boules noires, luisantes, dans le perlé cristallin qui les élèvent, prêts à tomber pour toujours rebondir.
Pourtant, opportunément choisie pour annoncer l’exposition, une photo saisit le temps dans une apothéose idéale de l’instant : un jeu subtil de rappel et de métamorphose vient inscrire le jeu des enfants dans celui des hommes, tandis que les gracils lutins de ce Songe d’une fin d’été ou d’une fin du jour continuent à courir entre les colonnes d’eau, et que les fontaines forment une façade vivante de blancheur limpide devant la face noire d’un long bâtiment à l’arrière-plan, créant comme au théâtre l’illusion d’un improbable Versailles parisien. Pendant ce temps, le ballon d’une montgolfière, très haut sur l’axe central de la photo, rend sensible un moment d’équilibre parfait par la symétrie quasi sans faille qu’il suscite, comme si quelque ballon enfantin avait échappé à toute pesanteur, à toute menace de déséquilibre, à l’eau qui toujours retombe, pour n’être plus qu’élément dans l’air qui s’élève.
L’audacieuse contradiction créatrice que proclame Shakespeare dans Macbeth – « Le noir est le blanc, et le blanc est le noir » -, Sabine Jaccard semble vouloir la faire sienne dans ces photos. Déjà, à la Sorbonne, en étudiant Shakespeare, elle avait su mettre un texte du Roi Lear en images, créant un court-métrage d’une singulière pertinence diffusé depuis à la Cinémathèque de Paris. Elle avait su trouver de subtiles équivalences entre ce texte et la matière concrète – de l’eau, des galets, du sable, une falaise, des jeux de caméra entre profondeur et hauteur – comme elle sait ici créer un théâtre sans paroles dans lequel la matière parle, les formes, les lumières, les jeux d’ombres."

Gisèle Venet, professeur à la Sorbonne Nouvelle, 2005

____

L’eau et les rêves

"L’œil de Sabine Jaccard transforme, transcende. C’est une constante de son œuvre, délibérément inscrite en noir sur blanc depuis des années.

Projetée sur le spectacle ordinaire de la vie, son imagination accomplit une miraculeuse diffraction de la réalité qui nous projette au-delà de ce que nos yeux voient.
Ici, Sabine transforme l’eau en feu, en jungles exubérantes, en fantasmagories animales, ou en chevelures de comètes… Dans ces décors choisis et dans ces instants volés au temps, puis fixés à jamais dans une nouvelle vérité, les enfants se métamorphosent en joie pure. Ils sont la danse ; ils sont le jeu ; ils sont le cri ; ils sont l’enfance. Ils sont eux-mêmes au superlatif, tout simplement.

Lorsqu’elle se glisse avec son objectif dans une foule, ou s’immisce discrètement au beau milieu des jeux de la vie, Sabine s’immerge elle-même corps et âme, dans l’acte de photographier. Il suffit de l’avoir suivie pour savoir que l’acuité, l’extrême tension, et son regard perçant, incitent à garder le silence. C’est pourquoi l’on sent dans ses images, la volonté et la force de voir clairement à travers la surface des miroirs que nous tend la réalité.
Il est difficile de parler de son œuvre sans évoquer Shakespeare qui l’a nourrie de son théâtre, au point qu’elle lui a emprunté le titre de cette exposition All the world’s a stage.

All the world's a stage,
And all the men and women merely players…

Les décors, comme les rôles, sont infinis, mais « ce que le photographe reproduit à l’infini n’a lieu qu’une fois », comme l’écrit si justement Roland Barthes. Encore faut-il qu’il soit là, immobilisé par l’éblouissement et capable de le recréer dans une autre dimension.
Il y a dans l’art de Sabine quelque chose de cette magie. Au bout de cette chaîne de petits miracles, c’est à l’œil du spectateur de jouer le dernier acte !"

Cookie Allez, écrivain

____

Discours artistique

"En vingt tableaux vivants, Sabine Jaccard propose à notre regard une subtile pièce

de théâtre qui célèbre des thèmes très présents dans l'oeuvre de Shakespeare : les
oppositions entre la réalité et l'illusion, entre l'ombre et la lumière, entre le corps et l'esprit.
L'eau et l'être humain y jouent les rôles principaux.
Les personnages du Parc André Citroën à Paris, d'Anacostia Park à Washington, ou
de la place de l'ONU à Genève se métamorphosent en mille feux lumineux.
Pas de pose, c'est l'oeil du photographe qui décide de les figer. Une de ses
intentions est de faire jaillir le suc du temps pour souligner sa gravité, mais aussi pour donner
de la joie.
Franco-suisse, Sabine Jaccard habite à Paris. Elle affectionne particulièrement la
street photography en noir et blanc argentique. Photographier : c'est "écrire avec la
lumière" : elle a choisi le contre-jour pour témoigner de son désir d'approcher, de toucher,
de comprendre ce qui anime l'humain.
Et c'est à l'oeil du spectateur de jouer le dernier acte !"

Cookie Allez, écrivain


Nous contacter | Plan du site  | Mentions légales
© 2009 Art Way - tous droits réservés.
Art Way® est une marque déposée

ART WAY
75008 PARIS - FRANCE
Contact